No Apologies

Earlier this year I started a Facebook group, initially for a small group of online friends to have one space to ask me (& each other) for bra fitting advice. Then people began to add their friends, who then added their friends and so on. So on 14th March 2017, I started up the blog with little expectation other than to help people find the advice posts a bit more easily but I’ve quickly realised I bloody enjoy writing it.

However, there’s one thing that is reoccurring in all of the messages I receive from all over the world now, and it’s women apologising for their body.

“Excuse my fat..”

“Sorry for subjecting you to this..”

“I’m losing weight. I’m not normally this big”

“I’m sorry you have to see this..”

And I want to say to them, no actually, I want to shout;

STOP APOLOGISING FOR BEING YOU!! 

Not only do you not need to apologise to me, because I honestly don’t see or care about your belly rolls, scars, stretchmarks or hairy armpits. I see & care about your boobs but not that they are “too small” or “too big” or “different sizes” or “so saggy since kids” I just care about finding you the bra that makes you feel good. I want to give you a step, even if it’s a tiny little step, towards feeling comfortable in your skin, to feel confident and proud of the body you have. You need to stop apologising to everybody around you including yourself. I want you to stop saying sorry.

THIS IS ME….

No make up, no filter, wet hair.. just a real image of me.

Don’t get me wrong I do it too. I have belly rolls, I have stretchmarks on top of stretchmarks, I have scars and hairy legs, my boobs dont sit up high anymore (dont think they ever did 😂)  and I do apologise for them, I do & I shouldnt, however the more pictures I receive of absolutely normal but absolutely beautiful women, some just like me, some completely different to methe more confident I become in flaunting all these bits and bobs. It’s so refreshing to see unairbrushed, unfiltered women in every shape, size, age and race. It makes me realise that it’s ok. That I am ok and so are you.

So as you can see I’m not giving any bra fitting advice today I’m just making a request that you do not bodyshame yourself. Not to me, not to your husband or your wife, not to your children, not to your friends and most importantly… Not to yourself. It doesn’t matter if you are a size 6 or a size 26, if you have big wobbly boobs or small pointy boobs, doesn’t matter if you have a little bum, a flat bum or a big round bum. What matters is you and you are amazing.

 
~X~


2 thoughts on “No Apologies”

  1. Ameeenn!! I used to do a lot of hot yoga and for some reason (probably because everyone just wants to get their hot sweaty gear OFF and into a shower) there’s a lot of nudity in those changing rooms. Even with the majority of those lady bodies being the lithe, toned ones that yoga advertised, it was still amazing how quickly just being around other women’s bodies affected my opinion of my own. It’s striking how much the culture we’ve created affects how women see their own bodies

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

