Different Stores, Different Sizes

When I fit women, whether that’s face to face or online, I’ll generally give a size range rather than one specific size.  This isn’t because I’m just guessing  (I promise it isn’t) it’s because most women will fit into different sizes in different brands and it can sometimes be a ‘suck it and see’ approach.

I say I’m a 34J but look at this picture;

The Panache bra is a great fit on me but the Elomi bra is also perfect. The Curvy Kate is very close to a perfect fit (you can see my review here) and The Freya, well, it absolutely doesn’t fit at all, in fact I would need a 32HH/J in it.  Once you start knowing the region you fall in you’ll probably find you can stay at one size for each brand and the more you try on the more you’ll get to know how each one fits for you and you’ll also find some just don’t work no matter what size you try.  I can’t wear Fantasie (which devastates me because I love them!) Or Pour Moi, they don’t work for my shape but with Elomi and Panache I can guarantee will fit me every time.

If you have seen me mention sister sizes and wondered what I mean, this is it. It’s the ‘alternative’ size you can wear.  I’ve tried to show this in the columns below;

The arrows show which sizes have the equivalent cup volumes, this is what we mean by ‘sister sizes’ e.g If you wear a 30DD but want a slightly looser band but the same cup volume, you can try a 32D.  I find Panache quite a firm band generally  so I prefer to move to a 36 meaning I swap the cup from a J to a HH, are you following me?

I know a lot of people find this frustrating as they just want to be one size, pop into their nearest shop, pick up a 32F and be done but unfortunately it’s like any clothes shopping,  I can buy a pair of size 16 jeans in New Look but in River Island I need a 20 but because I know this it’s far easier to shop.  So when I give you a size range don’t be disheartened, I’m just telling you the region you need to be looking in to find the right fit and once you have it narrowed down to 2 or 3 sizes that’s a great place to start.

~X~

Leave a Reply

